Special Education Local
Plan Area (SELPA)
San Diego County Office of Education
SDCOE

In 1977, all school districts and county
offices of education were required to join
to form geographical regions of sufficient
size and scope to provide for all of the
special education service needs of
children residing within the region
boundaries. Each region developed a
local plan describing how it would provide
special education services. The SELPA
governance structure varies in form.
Single district SELPAs are of such
significant size to provide all services
within their boundaries while smaller
districts joined consortia to provide the full
range of services.

There are six SELPAs in San Diego
County:

SELPA Map (PDF)
North Coastal Consortium for Special
Education SELPA
North Inland Special Education Region
SELPA
East County SELPA
South County SELPA
Poway Unified School District SELPA
San Diego Unified School District SELPA

Each SELPA must have an Administrative
Unit, the legal entity that receives funds
and is responsible for seeing that every
eligible child receives appropriate
services.
The County Office of Education is the
Administrative Unit fo
r North Coastal,
North Inland, East County and South
County SELPAS;
the San Diego Unified School District is
the Administrative Unit for its SELPA as is
the Poway Unified School District.
Education Reform Report
EDUCATION REFORM
Home
San Diego
Education Report
Site Map
Anti-parent war chest
Special Education
SELPA
Bay Area
Special Education
Advocacy
Anthony M. Farenga
M.S. Ed.
Educational Consultant
and Advocate
JPA against pro se

OC Joint Powers Alliance Funds Appeal of
Parent Won Due Process Case Against
Huntington Beach Union High School District |
4/2006


D. K., by and through his Guardian ad Litem
Andrea Kumetz-Coleman; ANDREA
KUMETZ-COLEMAN v. HUNTINGTON BEACH
UNION HIGH school district


According to Ron Lackey Ed.D., in the case of
D.K. vs. Huntington Beach Union High School
District, the district has filed an appeal in a due
process case lost to parents who represented
themselves. The HBUHSD appeal is funded  by
the Orange County "special ed alliance." The
Alliance has pooled funds from 27 school
districts & the county office of education in
Orange County.

A decision was rendered in the Central District
Federal Court in Santa Ana CA on March 20,
2006 on the issue of "Pro Se,"  parent
representing their student under IDEA  ruled in
favor of parent. ( IDEA allows for Parents Pro
Se )

Amazingly, according to Lackey, the school
district is taking this decision on to appeal to
the 9th Cir Court for decision even though the
district was short funds and claiming
encroachment of the special education budget
upon the general education budget. The
appeal has been certified up to the 9th Cir
Court.

See 9th Circuit Decision
pro se wins
Downloaded Feb. 19, 2009

2007-2008
SPECIAL EDUCATION CONTACT LIST
Carolyn Nunes, Senior Director
cnunes@sdcoe.net
(858) 292-3774
FAX (858) 569-5381

East County SELPA Claudia Gray (619) 590-3920 1 cgray@sdcoe.net FAX 588-2495

Early Education Programs Denise Meek (858) 292-3801 4 dmeek@sdcoe.net FAX 569-5394

North Coastal SELPA Joe Schwartzberg (760) 761-5111 5 jschwart@sdcoe.net FAX 471-2008

North Inland SELPA Carol Bartz (760) 788-4671 9 cbartz@sdcoe.net FAX 788-4681

Poway SELPA Wendy Smith-Rogers (858) 668-4135 11 wsrogers@powayusd.com FAX 748-1791

San Diego Unified SELPA Susan Martinez (619) 725-7700 13 smartinez7@sandi.net FAX 725-7246

South County SELPA Penny Valentine (619) 470-5224 16 pvalentine@sdcoe.net FAX 470-5266
NCCSE Director
Joe Schwartzberg
SOUTH COUNTY SPECIAL EDUCATION LOCAL PLAN AREA TELEPHONE
AREA CODE 619
Penny Valentine, Senior Director South County SELPA Office 470-5224
pvalentine@sdcoe.net 800 National City Blvd., Suite 202 FAX
National City CA 91950 470-5266
Russell Coronado, Coordinator (rcoronado@sdcoe.net ) 470-5233
DISTRICT CONTACT PERSON ADDRESS TELEPHONE
Chula Vista Elementary Deborah Wenbourne, Director 84 East “J” Street 425-9600 Ext. 1701
Special Education/Pupil Services Chula Vista CA 91910-6199 FAX deborah.wenbourne@cvesd.org 585-0976
Coronado Unified Richard Erhard, Director 555 “D” Avenue 522-8932
Pupil Personnel Services Coronado CA 92118-1714 FAX richard.erhard@coronado.k12.ca.us 437-4928
National Katie Filzenger, Director 1500 “N” Avenue 336-7742
Special Education National City CA 91950-4827 FAX katie.filzenger@national.12.ca.us 336-7551
San Ysidro Mariana Ousna, Coordinator 4350 Otay Mesa Road 428-4476
Special Education San Ysidro CA 92173-1685 FAX mariana@sysd.k12.ca.us 428-6473
17
SOUTH COUNTY SPECIAL EDUCATION LOCAL PLAN AREA (Cont.)
DISTRICT CONTACT PERSON ADDRESS TELEPHONE AREA CODE 619
South Bay Union Susan Schmidt, Director 601 Elm Avenue 628-1660
Pupil Personnel Imperial Beach CA 91932-2098 FAX sschmidt@sbusd.k12.ca.us 628-1669
Sweetwater Union High Ronald Lopez, Director 670 “L” Street, Ste. A 407-6300
Special Support Services Chula Vista CA 91911 FAX ronald.lopez@suhsd.k12.ca.us 427-8794
Special Education